Whole-house surge protectors help limit voltage spikes entering through a home’s electrical service, but panel compatibility, installation style, and protection capacity shape which one makes sense. My best overall pick is the Square D HEPD80 for its clearly specified 80kA capacity and familiar panel-mounted format; the Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA is a versatile alternative, while the ABB THOMESURGEP suits buyers who need a weather-resistant enclosure. The main tradeoff is between a device that fits a specific panel neatly and a more universal-looking model that still needs careful compatibility checks. Capacity figures also require context: a larger number alone does not establish better protection for every home. Read on for the full comparison, selection criteria, and guidance on matching a protector to your electrical setup.
Get baking supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Panel compatibility separates the leading choices: the Square D HEPD80 and the Type BR breaker-style units call for extra attention to panel family, while enclosure-style devices may offer more mounting flexibility.
- Published capacity is not the whole decision: the 80kA Square D HEPD80 and 108,000-amp FHSPD108S and SPD2ULTRA stand out on stated capacity, but installation, listing details, and service-panel fit still matter.
- Outdoor placement favors enclosed models: ABB THOMESURGEP identifies a NEMA 3R enclosure, a practical distinction for installations exposed to weather.
- Brand familiarity and fit can outweigh headline numbers: Square D, Eaton, ABB, and Generac options may be easier to evaluate alongside existing equipment, while buyers should verify exact model and panel requirements.
- These products do not eliminate the need for layered protection: whole-panel devices address surges at the service entrance, while sensitive electronics may still benefit from properly selected point-of-use protection.
| Square D by Schneider Electric Homeline SurgeBreaker Surge Protection Device | ![]() | Best for Homeline Panel Owners | Voltage: 120/240 V | Phase: 1-phase | Wiring: 3-wire | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-House Surge Protector, 36,000 Amps, 120/240V | ![]() | Best for Indoor or Outdoor Placement | Model: FHSPD36S | Surge capacity: 36,000 amps | System compatibility: 120/240 V, 60 Hz | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ABB THQLSURGE2 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, Type 1 SPD | ![]() | Best for PowerMark Load Centers | Model: THQLSURGE2 | Device type: Type 1 surge protective device | Surge handling capacity: Up to 25 kA per phase | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| HSPD Square Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC (HSPD-25) | ![]() | Best for Flexible Breaker Compatibility | Model: HSPD-25 | Device type: Type 1 surge protective device | Voltage: 120/240 VAC | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Intermatic IG2240-IMSK Smart Guard Whole-Whole Surge Protector | ![]() | Best for Maintainable Protection | Model: IG2240-IMSK | Voltage: 120/240 VAC | Enclosure type: Type 1 indoor metal | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 3-Wire, 120/240V, 80kA | ![]() | Best for Square D Load Centers | Model: HEPD80 | Phase: 1-phase | Wiring: 3-wire | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device | ![]() | Best for Type BR Panels with Limited Space | Panel type: Type BR | Branch circuit spaces: 2 | Surge current: 18 kA | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000 Amps, 120/240V | ![]() | Best for Flexible Installation | Model: FHSPD108S | Surge capacity: Up to 108,000 amps | Voltage: 120/240V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3R | ![]() | Best for Service Entrance Installation | Model: THOMESURGEP | Device type: Type 1 surge protective device | Voltage: 120/240V and 120/208V AC | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device | ![]() | Best for Type BR Two-Pole Replacement | Type: BR | Poles: Two | Device type: Circuit breaker surge protective device | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SPD2ULTRA Whole Home Surge Protector – 108,000 Amp, 120/240V Indoor/Outdoor for Breaker Box | ![]() | Best for Maximum Listed Capacity | Surge capacity: 108,000 amps | Voltage: 120/240V AC, 60 Hz | Dimensions: 2.2 × 3.62 × 5.11 inches | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| HSPD Square Whole Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC (HSPD-80) | ![]() | Best for Flexible Panel Compatibility | Device type: Type 1 surge protective device | Voltage: 120/240 VAC | Surge capacity: Up to 80 kA | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Generac 7409 Whole-House Surge Protective Device | ![]() | Best for Weather-Exposed Installation | Surge capacity: 50 kA per phase | SCCR: 200 kA | Device type: Dual-rated Type 1 and Type 2, field-configurable | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 120/240V | ![]() | Best for Cross-Brand Load Center Fit | Brand: Eaton | Model: CHSPT2ULTRA | Phases: 1 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| wholehouse surge protector | Voltage | Installation | Model | Device type |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Square D by Schneider Electric | 120/240 V | Plug-on | — | — |
| Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-House | — | Indoor or outdoor | FHSPD36S | — |
| ABB THQLSURGE2 Whole-Home Surg | — | Plug-on | THQLSURGE2 | Type 1 surge protective device |
| HSPD Square Whole-Home Surge P | 120/240 VAC | Indoor or outdoor | HSPD-25 | Type 1 surge protective device |
| Intermatic IG2240-IMSK Smart G | 120/240 VAC | — | IG2240-IMSK | — |
| Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Sur | 120/240V | Residential load center | HEPD80 | — |
| Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Br | — | Type BR circuit breaker panel | — | Whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device |
| FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Pro | 120/240V | Indoor or outdoor | FHSPD108S | — |
| ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Sur | 120/240V and 120/208V AC | Service entrance or sub-panel | THOMESURGEP | Type 1 surge protective device |
| Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Break | Not provided | — | — | Circuit breaker surge protective device |
| SPD2ULTRA Whole Home Surge Pro | 120/240V AC, 60 Hz | — | — | — |
| HSPD Square Whole Home Surge P | 120/240 VAC | Indoor or outdoor | HSPD-80 | Type 1 surge protective device |
| Generac 7409 Whole-House Surge | — | — | — | Dual-rated Type 1 and Type 2, field-configurable |
| Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA Surge Protec | 120/240V | — | CHSPT2ULTRA | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Square D by Schneider Electric Homeline SurgeBreaker Surge Protection Device
The Homeline SurgeBreaker is the most straightforward fit here for a homeowner whose service equipment already uses a compatible Homeline load center. Its plug-on design and two-space footprint make it a panel-mounted option, while the LED gives a visible status cue. Compared with the ABB THQLSURGE2, which is limited to PowerMark load centers, this device is similarly tied to a specific panel family; neither is a universal add-on. The listing describes protection for circuits and receptacles throughout the home, but gives no surge-current capacity, so buyers cannot compare its handling rating with Furniqro’s stated 36,000 amps. Choose it for system fit and a clear status indicator, not for a published capacity comparison. Installation requires panel compatibility and appropriate electrical work.
Pros:- Plug-on installation for compatible Homeline equipment
- LED indicator provides a visible status cue
- Specified for service entrance locations, CSEDs, and Homeline load centers
- Listed to UL 1449 3rd Edition
Cons:- Requires two panel spaces
- No surge-current capacity is provided in the supplied product data
- Panel compatibility limits its usefulness for owners of other load center families
Best for: Homeowners with a compatible Homeline load center who want a plug-on panel device and an LED status indicator
Not ideal for: Owners of non-Homeline panels or buyers who need a published surge-current capacity to compare protection levels
- Voltage:120/240 V
- Phase:1-phase
- Wiring:3-wire
- Installation:Plug-on
- Panel space:Requires 2 spaces
- Certification:UL 1449 3rd Edition Listed
- Compatible locations:Service entrance locations, CSEDs, and Homeline load centers
- Status indicator:LED
Our verdict“Choose this when you own compatible Homeline equipment and value a panel-matched plug-on device over a published surge-capacity figure.”
Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-House Surge Protector, 36,000 Amps, 120/240V
The Furniqro FHSPD36S is a flexible placement pick: its data specifies a commercial-grade enclosure for indoor or outdoor installation, plus compatibility with all brands of load centers and breakers. That broad fit contrasts with the panel-family limits of the Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker and ABB THQLSURGE2. Its stated 36,000-amp capacity also gives buyers a number to compare, though the supplied details do not explain a protection rating beyond that figure. LED indicators show status, but the product data lists no warranty. That omission matters when comparing it with the Intermatic IG2240-IMSK, which specifies replaceable modules and a 10-year connected-equipment warranty. This Furniqro makes the most sense when installation flexibility and stated capacity matter more than documented after-sale coverage.
Pros:- Rated for indoor or outdoor installation
- States a surge capacity of 36,000 amps
- Specified to fit all brands of load centers and circuit breakers
- LED indicators show protection status
Cons:- No warranty is listed in the supplied product data
- Proper grounding and installation by an electrician familiar with surge protection are important
- The supplied data does not provide further detail about its surge rating
Best for: Homeowners seeking an indoor or outdoor device with stated 36,000-amp capacity and broad load center compatibility
Not ideal for: Buyers who prioritize a listed warranty or want replaceable protection modules and documented equipment coverage
- Model:FHSPD36S
- Surge capacity:36,000 amps
- System compatibility:120/240 V, 60 Hz
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Enclosure:Commercial-grade
- Panel compatibility:All brands of load centers and circuit breakers
- Status indicators:LED
- Warranty:None listed
Our verdict“Pick the FHSPD36S if flexible placement and broad panel compatibility matter more to you than a documented warranty.”
ABB THQLSURGE2 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, Type 1 SPD
For a compatible PowerMark load center, the ABB THQLSURGE2 offers a defined panel fit and a stated Type 1 design with protection up to 25 kA per phase. Its plug-on format and LED operating indicator keep the setup details simple to understand. Compared with the Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker, this is also a panel-family-specific choice, but ABB provides a per-phase capacity figure while Square D’s supplied data does not. The tradeoff is compatibility: the THQLSURGE2 is specified for PowerMark load centers, so its whole-home role does not make it a general fit for other panels. The listing mentions residential or commercial systems, but buyers should confirm their exact load center model before choosing it. Its compact listed weight is useful context, though it does not resolve the compatibility constraint.
Pros:- Type 1 surge protective device
- States capacity up to 25 kA per phase
- Plug-on installation for compatible PowerMark load centers
- LED indicators display operating status
Cons:- Compatibility is limited to PowerMark load center models
- Supplied data does not specify indoor or outdoor enclosure suitability
- The stated capacity is lower than models in the roundup with larger published figures
Best for: Homeowners or small commercial property owners with a compatible PowerMark load center who want a Type 1 plug-on SPD
Not ideal for: People with other load center brands or anyone who needs a device specified for indoor and outdoor placement
- Model:THQLSURGE2
- Device type:Type 1 surge protective device
- Surge handling capacity:Up to 25 kA per phase
- Installation:Plug-on
- Compatibility:PowerMark load centers
- Status indicators:LED
- Item weight:7.36 ounces
- UPC:783164678246
Our verdict“Choose the THQLSURGE2 when your PowerMark panel is compatible and its stated 25 kA-per-phase capacity suits your needs.”
HSPD Square Whole-Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC (HSPD-25)
The HSPD-25 stands out for its stated compatibility with circuit breakers from any brand and casing rated for indoor or outdoor installation. That makes it more adaptable on paper than the panel-specific ABB THQLSURGE2 and Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker. It is a Type 1 device for 120/240 VAC systems, but its capacity information is difficult to use: the supplied specs list up to 25/50/80 kA without identifying which figure applies to this model. That ambiguity weakens comparisons with the Furniqro FHSPD36S, whose data gives one capacity figure. Buyers should verify the exact rating for the HSPD-25 and confirm installation requirements before purchase. It suits shoppers focused on enclosure placement and breaker-brand flexibility, provided they can obtain a clear model-specific capacity.
Pros:- Type 1 device for 120/240 VAC systems
- Specified for compatibility with circuit breakers from any brand
- Casing supports indoor or outdoor installation
- Compact design
Cons:- The capacity options are listed as 25/50/80 kA without identifying the HSPD-25 rating
- Supplied data does not include an indicator or warranty detail
- Buyers need to confirm the specific capacity and installation fit
Best for: Homeowners whose panel uses a breaker brand outside the major panel-specific options and who need indoor or outdoor placement
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a clear, model-specific surge-capacity figure before comparing devices
- Model:HSPD-25
- Device type:Type 1 surge protective device
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Surge capacity options:Up to 25/50/80 kA; model-specific figure not identified
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Circuit breaker compatibility:Any brand
- Casing:Durable casing
Our verdict“Consider the HSPD-25 if broad breaker compatibility and flexible placement are priorities and you can verify its exact capacity first.”
Intermatic IG2240-IMSK Smart Guard Whole-Whole Surge Protector
The Intermatic Smart Guard earns a distinct place for buyers who value serviceability over a quick panel install. Its three replaceable IModules let a homeowner replace modules rather than the full device, and the disconnect switch provides a convenient way to isolate the unit. The Type 1 indoor metal enclosure and LED indicators add practical status and housing details. Compared with the compact, broad-fit Furniqro FHSPD36S, Intermatic offers clearer maintenance and warranty provisions, including 10-year, $50,000 connected-equipment coverage. The tradeoff is that it must be wired to the main breaker panel and requires professional installation; the supplied data also gives no surge-current capacity for direct rating comparisons. This is a stronger fit for a buyer who wants documented coverage and replaceable parts than for someone seeking a simple, capacity-ranked device.
Pros:- Three replaceable IModules simplify module-level maintenance
- LED indicators show module status
- Includes a module power disconnect switch
- Specifies a 10-year, $50,000 connected-equipment warranty
Cons:- Professional installation is required for connection to the main breaker panel
- No surge-current capacity is provided in the supplied data
- The enclosure is specified for indoor use
Best for: Homeowners who want replaceable surge modules, a disconnect switch, and documented connected-equipment coverage
Not ideal for: DIY-focused buyers or shoppers who need a published surge-current capacity or an outdoor-rated enclosure
- Model:IG2240-IMSK
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Enclosure type:Type 1 indoor metal
- Modules:3 replaceable IModules with LED indicators
- Disconnect switch:Included module power switch
- Warranty:10 years
- Connected-equipment coverage:$50,000
- Connection:Wired to main breaker panel
Our verdict“Choose the Smart Guard if replaceable modules and documented equipment coverage matter more than DIY installation or a published capacity figure.”
Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 3-Wire, 120/240V, 80kA
Square D load center owners get a straightforward way to add surge protection at the panel, where it can cover hardwired appliances as well as circuits served by outlets. Its 80 kA rating gives buyers a specific capacity figure to compare with the Type BR device’s 18 kA, though those ratings alone do not describe every aspect of protection. The LED status indicator also makes it easier to spot when the device may need replacement. Unlike the ABB THOMESURGEP, which is designed not to use breaker spaces, the HEPD80 is described as a load-center installation and requires compatible panel arrangements. It also complements rather than replaces plug-in protection for sensitive electronics. This is a focused choice for a Square D setup, but less compelling when panel compatibility or installation access is uncertain.
Pros:- Provides surge protection through the home’s electrical system, including for hardwired appliances
- 80 kA surge rating is higher than the listed 18 kA Type BR device
- LED indicator helps show when replacement may be needed
- Complements plug-in surge strips by covering equipment they may not reach
Cons:- Requires installation in a residential load center and compatible panel arrangements
- Does not replace plug-in protection for sensitive electronics
- The supplied details do not specify whether it can be installed indoors or outdoors
Best for: Homeowners with a compatible residential load center who want panel-level protection and a visible status indicator
Not ideal for: Homeowners seeking a panel-agnostic unit or protection that replaces plug-in strips for sensitive electronics
- Model:HEPD80
- Phase:1-phase
- Wiring:3-wire
- Voltage:120/240V
- Installation:Residential load center
- Status indicator:LED
Our verdict“Choose the HEPD80 for a compatible Square D load center when you want panel-level coverage and a clear replacement status light.”
Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device
This device targets a narrow but useful situation: a home with a Type BR panel where the owner wants whole-panel surge protection and can spare two branch circuit spaces. The listed 18 kA surge current rating is lower than the Square D HEPD80’s 80 kA, so buyers prioritizing the higher stated rating may prefer that alternative if their panel supports it. The Type BR unit’s main appeal is panel fit, not a broad compatibility claim or an included status feature; neither is provided in the supplied details. That leaves fewer decision points than the FHSPD108S, which lists compatibility across load center brands and LED indicators. I’d shortlist this one when Type BR compatibility is the deciding factor, while checking panel fit and installation requirements before choosing.
Pros:- Designed specifically for Type BR circuit breaker panels
- Provides whole-panel surge protection
- Lists an 18 kA surge current rating
Cons:- Uses two branch circuit spaces
- Its listed 18 kA rating is below the Square D HEPD80’s 80 kA rating
- The supplied product details do not identify voltage, status indication, or indoor/outdoor suitability
Best for: Homeowners with a Type BR panel who can dedicate two branch circuit spaces to a panel surge device
Not ideal for: Buyers with another panel type or those who need a stated higher surge rating, status indicator, or broader installation details
- Panel type:Type BR
- Branch circuit spaces:2
- Surge current:18 kA
- Pack quantity:1
- Device type:Whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device
- Installation:Type BR circuit breaker panel
Our verdict“Consider this device when you have a Type BR panel and two available spaces, after confirming its fit and installation details.”
FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Protector, 108,000 Amps, 120/240V
The FHSPD108S makes a strong case for homes where the panel’s location constrains installation: it supports indoor or outdoor mounting and claims compatibility with any brand of load center and circuit breaker. Its stated capacity of up to 108,000 amps exceeds the HEPD80’s 80 kA figure, giving buyers a clear capacity comparison, though the supplied information does not establish that the ratings use identical measurement conditions. LED indicators provide a quick visual status check. Compared with the ABB THOMESURGEP, this model emphasizes broad panel compatibility and placement flexibility; ABB instead highlights a Type 1 design that does not occupy breaker spaces. The FHSPD108S has a practical tradeoff: grounding problems or installation mistakes may cause startup issues, so setup and troubleshooting can call for an electrician familiar with surge devices.
Pros:- Rated for up to 108,000 amps of surge capacity
- Claims compatibility with any brand of load center and circuit breaker
- Can be installed indoors or outdoors
- LED indicators show protection status
Cons:- Grounding or improper use may cause startup problems
- Installation and troubleshooting may require an electrician familiar with surge protection
- The supplied details do not say whether it occupies breaker spaces
Best for: Homeowners whose load center brand or indoor/outdoor mounting location calls for a flexible installation option
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a device that avoids breaker-space use or who cannot confirm grounding and installation requirements
- Model:FHSPD108S
- Surge capacity:Up to 108,000 amps
- Voltage:120/240V
- Frequency:60Hz
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Compatibility:Any brand of load center and circuit breaker
- Status indicators:LED
Our verdict“Pick the FHSPD108S if broad panel compatibility and indoor or outdoor placement matter and you can arrange proper installation.”
ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Surge Protection Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3R
The ABB THOMESURGEP is set apart by its Type 1 design and installation options at a service entrance or sub-panel. Its contractor-friendly format is designed to avoid occupying breaker spaces, which can matter in a crowded panel where a two-space device such as the Type BR model is a poor fit. The listed 200 kA SCCR and 10 kA nominal discharge current describe different electrical characteristics, so I would not treat either as a direct substitute for the FHSPD108S’s advertised surge capacity. ABB also lists 120/240V and 120/208V AC support and NEC 2023 Article 230.67 compliance. The tradeoff is that installation may call for electrical expertise, and the plugs are designed for use in the United States. This suits buyers focused on service-level placement and saved breaker space.
Pros:- Type 1 SPD supports service entrance or sub-panel installation
- Designed not to occupy breaker spaces
- Supports both 120/240V and 120/208V AC systems
- Listed as compliant with NEC 2023 Article 230.67
Cons:- Installation may require electrical expertise
- Plugs are designed for use in the United States
- Its listed SCCR and nominal discharge current are not directly comparable to a single surge capacity figure
Best for: Homeowners or contractors planning service entrance or sub-panel protection where preserving breaker spaces matters
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a simple DIY installation or a device intended for use outside the United States
- Model:THOMESURGEP
- Device type:Type 1 surge protective device
- Voltage:120/240V and 120/208V AC
- SCCR:200 kA
- Nominal discharge current:10 kA
- Operating frequency:50–60 Hz
- Installation:Service entrance or sub-panel
- Breaker space use:Designed not to occupy breaker spaces
Our verdict“Choose the ABB THOMESURGEP for service entrance or sub-panel placement when Type 1 design and saved breaker space are priorities.”
Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device
This pick is defined by two details: it is a Type BR device and uses a two-pole configuration. That makes it a possible fit for buyers matching a specific panel and breaker arrangement, but the supplied product data gives no surge rating, voltage, status indicator, or installation location. The fuller Type BR whole-panel model in this roundup at least lists an 18 kA rating and its two-space requirement, so it is easier to compare against the HEPD80 and FHSPD108S. Here, the two-pole format is the only stated differentiator; it does not establish compatibility with every Type BR panel or reveal how much surge current it can handle. I’d treat this as a specification-dependent option and verify the exact panel fit and protection data before buying.
Pros:- Specifically identifies Type BR system compatibility
- Two-pole configuration is stated for panel matching
- Circuit-breaker device format supports a panel-level installation
Cons:- No surge capacity or current rating is provided in the supplied details
- No voltage or status indicator information is provided
- Exact panel-space requirement and installation conditions are unspecified
Best for: Homeowners replacing or matching a two-pole surge device in a Type BR system who can verify the exact panel and ratings
Not ideal for: Buyers comparing protection capacity or seeking clear voltage, status, and installation specifications before purchase
- Type:BR
- Poles:Two
- Device type:Circuit breaker surge protective device
- System compatibility:Type BR circuit breaker systems
- Voltage:Not provided
Our verdict“Buy this only when its Type BR two-pole format matches your panel and you can confirm its surge rating and installation requirements.”
SPD2ULTRA Whole Home Surge Protector – 108,000 Amp, 120/240V Indoor/Outdoor for Breaker Box
I’d put the SPD2ULTRA first for buyers prioritizing the largest stated surge capacity in this group: its rating is 108,000 amps, above the Generac 7409’s 50 kA per phase and the HSPD-80’s 80 kA. It is designed for standard residential 120/240V panels and includes color-coded 12 AWG wires and detailed instructions, which may make the installation process clearer for an electrician. The 10-year warranty also gives it a longer stated support window than the other entries’ supplied product data. The tradeoff is panel space and breaker capacity: it calls for a dedicated two-pole 50A breaker, and its compact, breaker-sized body may still be difficult to place in a crowded panel. I’d choose it for capacity, provided the panel can accommodate it.
Pros:- Highest stated capacity in this batch at 108,000 amps
- 10-year warranty
- Color-coded 12 AWG wires and detailed installation instructions
- Designed for most residential breaker boxes and panels
Cons:- Requires a dedicated two-pole 50A breaker
- May be difficult to place in a crowded panel
Best for: Homeowners with compatible 120/240V panels who want the highest stated surge capacity in this batch and a long warranty.
Not ideal for: Owners of crowded panels or panels that cannot accommodate a dedicated two-pole 50A breaker.
- Surge capacity:108,000 amps
- Voltage:120/240V AC, 60 Hz
- Dimensions:2.2 × 3.62 × 5.11 inches
- Operating temperature:-40°C to 50°C
- Recommended breaker:Two-pole 50A
- Warranty:10 years
Our verdict“Choose the SPD2ULTRA if its 108,000-amp rating and 10-year warranty matter more to you than panel space and the 50A breaker requirement.”
HSPD Square Whole Home Surge Protective Device, Type 1, 120/240 VAC (HSPD-80)
The HSPD-80 suits buyers who want a Type 1 device with broad stated breaker compatibility and indoor or outdoor placement. Its 80 kA capacity is below the SPD2ULTRA’s 108,000-amp figure, but the HSPD-80’s listing specifically says it fits breakers from any brand, a useful distinction for homes where matching a particular panel brand could complicate a replacement. Its durable casing also gives it more installation flexibility than a device whose supplied details do not specify outdoor use, such as the Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA. The available specifications leave important selection details unanswered, including breaker requirements and enclosure rating. I’d shortlist it for compatibility, then have an electrician confirm fit and installation requirements before choosing it.
Pros:- Type 1 surge protective device
- Stated compatibility with breakers from any brand
- Rated for indoor or outdoor installation
- Up to 80 kA surge capacity
Cons:- Lower stated capacity than the SPD2ULTRA
- Provided details do not specify breaker requirements
- Provided details do not give a numeric enclosure rating
Best for: Homeowners with a non-Square D panel who want a Type 1 device stated to fit breakers from any brand.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need detailed installation requirements, a specified enclosure rating, or a surge capacity above 80 kA.
- Device type:Type 1 surge protective device
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Surge capacity:Up to 80 kA
- Breaker compatibility:Circuit breakers from any brand
- Installation:Indoor or outdoor
- Model:HSPD-80
Our verdict“Consider the HSPD-80 if cross-brand breaker compatibility is your priority and an electrician confirms the unspecified installation details.”
Generac 7409 Whole-House Surge Protective Device
I’d favor the Generac 7409 when the installation location makes enclosure protection and status visibility priorities. Its NEMA 4X weather-resistant enclosure supports outdoor mounting, and a green LED indicates whether the protection elements are active. The 50 kA-per-phase rating is lower than the HSPD-80’s stated 80 kA and the SPD2ULTRA’s 108,000 amps, so this is a more specialized pick than a capacity-led choice. Its dual Type 1/Type 2 configuration gives an electrician flexibility in how to install it, while the required 20A two-pole breaker is not included. The device also does not cover phone, coaxial, or Ethernet lines, and the listing calls for a licensed electrician. I’d pick it for a weather-exposed panel location, not for broad low-voltage line protection.
Pros:- NEMA 4X weather-resistant enclosure for indoor or outdoor installation
- Green LED indicates whether protection elements are active
- Can be configured for Type 1 or Type 2 installation
- Protects against utility, indirect lightning, and appliance-generated surges
Cons:- Requires a separate 20A two-pole breaker that is not included
- Does not protect phone, coaxial, or Ethernet lines
- Requires installation by a licensed electrician
Best for: Homeowners who need a weather-resistant whole-house device for an outdoor panel location and want a visible protection status indicator.
Not ideal for: DIY installers or buyers seeking protection for phone, coaxial, or Ethernet lines, or a higher stated capacity than the HSPD-80 or SPD2ULTRA.
- Surge capacity:50 kA per phase
- SCCR:200 kA
- Device type:Dual-rated Type 1 and Type 2, field-configurable
- Panel compatibility:Residential 120/240V panels
- Leads:24-inch pre-wired 12-gauge L1, L2, and neutral
- Operating temperature:-4°F to 122°F
- Mounting:1/2-inch panel knockout nipple mount
- Breaker requirement:20A two-pole breaker, not included
- Status indicator:Green LED
Our verdict“Choose the Generac 7409 for its weather-resistant enclosure and status LED when an electrician can install it and its 50 kA-per-phase rating fits your needs.”
Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA Surge Protection Device, 1-Phase, 120/240V
The Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA is the simplest fit-focused option here: it is designed for single-phase 120/240V systems and is listed to connect to load centers from any manufacturer. That makes it a practical candidate for a homeowner whose panel brand does not match the device maker. Compared with the Generac 7409, the Eaton’s supplied details do not specify a weather-resistant enclosure, status indicator, or surge capacity; compared with the SPD2ULTRA, they also omit a warranty and breaker requirement. Those gaps make it hard to compare protection performance or plan the installation from the available product data alone. I’d treat broad load-center compatibility as its main reason to consider it and confirm capacity, enclosure suitability, and installation needs before purchase.
Pros:- Designed for single-phase 120/240V systems
- Listed to connect to load centers from any manufacturer
- Two-pole configuration
- Two-wire design
Cons:- Provided product data does not state surge capacity
- Provided details do not specify outdoor suitability or a status indicator
- Provided details do not list breaker requirements or warranty
Best for: Homeowners seeking a single-phase 120/240V device listed for load centers from any manufacturer, with an electrician available to verify fit and protection details.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a stated surge capacity, outdoor rating, status indicator, or detailed breaker and installation requirements before choosing.
- Brand:Eaton
- Model:CHSPT2ULTRA
- Phases:1
- Voltage:120/240V
- Poles:2
- Wires:2
- Load center compatibility:Load centers from any manufacturer
Our verdict“Consider the Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA when cross-brand load-center compatibility is the priority, but confirm its protection and installation specifications before selecting it.”

How We Picked
I ranked these whole-house surge protectors by how clearly a buyer can match the device to a real electrical installation. I gave weight to stated voltage and phase, published surge capacity, installation type, enclosure rating, and whether the product appears tied to a particular panel family. A clear fit and understandable specifications matter because an impressive capacity figure is of limited use if the device cannot be installed correctly or its listing and compatibility are unclear.
The ranking favors options with a useful balance of identifiable specifications, practical installation context, and established product families. That puts the Square D HEPD80 near the top for its stated 80kA rating and straightforward whole-home role, with Eaton and ABB models offering credible alternatives for different panel or placement needs. High-capacity products such as the FHSPD108S and SPD2ULTRA remain compelling on paper, but their headline ratings do not by themselves establish a better fit. Buyers should confirm the current manufacturer documentation, panel compatibility, code requirements, and installation instructions before purchase.
| wholehouse surge protector | Installation | Device type |
|---|---|---|
| Square D by Schneider Electric | Plug-on | — |
| Furniqro FHSPD36S Whole-House | Indoor or outdoor | — |
| ABB THQLSURGE2 Whole-Home Surg | Plug-on | Type 1 surge protective device |
| HSPD Square Whole-Home Surge P | Indoor or outdoor | Type 1 surge protective device |
| Intermatic IG2240-IMSK Smart G | — | — |
| Square D HEPD80 Whole-Home Sur | Residential load center | — |
| Type BR Whole-Panel Circuit Br | Type BR circuit breaker panel | Whole-panel circuit breaker surge protective device |
| FHSPD108S Whole-Home Surge Pro | Indoor or outdoor | — |
| ABB THOMESURGEP Whole-Home Sur | Service entrance or sub-panel | Type 1 surge protective device |
| Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Break | — | Circuit breaker surge protective device |
| SPD2ULTRA Whole Home Surge Pro | — | — |
| HSPD Square Whole Home Surge P | Indoor or outdoor | Type 1 surge protective device |
| Generac 7409 Whole-House Surge | — | Dual-rated Type 1 and Type 2, field-configurable |
| Eaton CHSPT2ULTRA Surge Protec | — | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Wholehouse Surge Protectors
Choosing a whole-house surge protector starts with the electrical service it will connect to, not the largest capacity number on a product page. I would use these factors to narrow the field and avoid buying a device that does not suit the panel, location, or protection plan.
Match the protector to your panel and service
Start by identifying the panel manufacturer, model family, and service voltage before comparing devices. Breaker-integrated or breaker-style products may only fit certain panel families, so a similar-looking breaker is not proof of compatibility. Check the manufacturer’s current compatibility list and the device’s wiring diagram. If your panel label is missing or the model is unclear, have an electrician identify it before ordering. Also confirm that the product is intended for your service configuration, such as single-phase 120/240V. This step can rule out attractive options early and prevent a return or unsafe installation.
Read surge ratings alongside the full specification
Surge capacity figures can describe different ratings or use different units, so compare like with like and consult the manufacturer’s documentation. A higher stated amperage does not by itself tell you how the device behaves across all surge conditions or how long it will remain serviceable. Look for a recognized listing, clear voltage protection details, and instructions that explain the connection method. Avoid treating one large number as a complete measure of protection. When specifications are absent or ambiguous, ask the manufacturer or an electrician to clarify them. That extra check is more useful than choosing by the headline figure alone.
Decide where the device will be mounted
Some surge protectors attach at or near the panel, while others use an enclosure that can be mounted separately. The right arrangement depends on available panel space, wiring access, and the device’s allowed lead length. For an outdoor or damp location, verify the enclosure rating and installation instructions rather than assuming the product name implies weather protection. NEMA 3R, for example, signals a defined enclosure type, but the complete installation still needs to follow the maker’s directions. A remote-mounted device can solve a crowded-panel problem, though it may require additional wiring work. Have a licensed electrician assess the location if the installation involves service equipment or an exterior wall.
Treat installation as part of the purchase decision
Whole-panel surge protection connects to electrical equipment that can present serious shock and fire hazards. Some products are designed around a compatible breaker; others use a separate connection and enclosure. Those differences affect labor, panel space, wiring, and the time needed to install the device. Do not assume a simple form factor makes a product a safe DIY project. Ask an electrician to confirm whether the panel has room and whether the installation meets local code. Comparing installation requirements before choosing can reveal that a slightly different model is a better practical fit.
Plan for wear and layered protection
A surge protective device can absorb only a finite amount of stress, and a major event may affect its condition. Check how the model signals that protection has failed or needs attention, and follow the manufacturer’s inspection and replacement guidance. A status light is useful only if someone checks it and knows what its indicators mean. Whole-house protection also has limits: it cannot prevent every surge from every source or guarantee that connected equipment will be unharmed. For valuable electronics, a compatible point-of-use protector can add another layer. Keep the whole-panel device’s indicator and replacement guidance in household maintenance records.
Choose capacity for the installation, not the biggest claim
Buyers often gravitate to the highest published surge capacity, but the number should be weighed against documented standards, panel fit, enclosure needs, and installation quality. A product with a more modest stated rating and a clear, compatible installation may be the more sensible choice for a particular home. Conversely, homes with sensitive equipment or exposure to frequent electrical storms may justify comparing higher-capacity models with an electrician. Ask what the rating represents and whether it is measured under a standard that permits comparison. Consider the home’s service equipment and existing protection before paying for extra capacity. The goal is an appropriate, correctly installed device rather than an isolated specification win.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I install any whole-house surge protector in my existing breaker panel?
No. Some devices are designed for specific breaker or panel families, and others need a compatible installation point and wiring arrangement. Check the exact panel model against the product documentation rather than relying on brand resemblance. An electrician can confirm whether the panel has room and whether the device is approved for that setup. If compatibility is uncertain, choose only after the manufacturer or installer verifies it.
Is a 108,000-amp model automatically better than an 80kA model?
Not automatically, because the figures may use different units, rating conventions, or test conditions. Compare the full manufacturer specifications and any recognized listing before interpreting the numbers. Also account for voltage, panel fit, enclosure rating, and installation requirements. A higher headline capacity cannot make up for a device that is incompatible or installed incorrectly. Ask an electrician to compare ratings when the product details do not make the basis clear.
Do I need a weather-rated surge protector if my panel is indoors?
Usually the panel’s location determines whether weather exposure is a factor, but remote-mounted protectors may be placed outdoors or in other exposed areas. Check the installation location allowed by the manufacturer and select an enclosure rating suited to those conditions. An indoor panel does not require an outdoor-rated enclosure simply because the home is in a storm-prone region. If the device will sit outside, confirm both its enclosure rating and the permitted mounting method. The ABB THOMESURGEP’s NEMA 3R specification makes that aspect easier to identify.
Will a whole-house surge protector replace plug-in surge strips?
No. A service-panel protector addresses surges entering through the electrical service, while a plug-in device can provide another layer near sensitive equipment. Neither type guarantees protection against every surge, and not every power strip includes surge protection. Match point-of-use equipment to the devices being protected and follow its grounding and load instructions. For computers, network gear, or home theater equipment, layered protection may be worthwhile. Ask an electrician how the layers work with the home’s grounding and service setup.
What should I check after a major power surge or lightning event?
Check the protector’s status indicator and follow the manufacturer’s instructions for interpreting it. A lit or changed indicator may mean the device needs attention or replacement, depending on the model. Do not open the panel or handle service wiring to investigate a failure yourself. If the indicator is unclear, the home has electrical symptoms, or the event caused visible damage, contact a licensed electrician. Keep the model’s manual or a photo of its indicator guide where you can find it later.
Conclusion
For most buyers who can confirm a compatible installation, I would start with the Square D HEPD80 as the best overall balance of a stated 80kA capacity and a clear whole-home role. The Type BR panel devices are the value direction when the home already has the matching panel family; buyers should verify fit before choosing between the panel-specific options. For a premium capacity-focused comparison, look at the FHSPD108S or SPD2ULTRA, while treating their 108,000-amp claims as one factor among several. Beginners should ask an electrician to match a familiar product family such as Square D, Eaton, or Generac to the service panel and handle installation. For an outdoor placement, the ABB THOMESURGEP with NEMA 3R enclosure addresses a specific location need. The right pick is the one whose documentation, panel compatibility, and installation plan line up with your home.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

















